Free ContentFor Members Only
Home > JackMyersThinkTank > The Verizon Motorola Droid Maxx Review – Strongly Love/Hate it - Shelly Palmer

The Verizon Motorola Droid Maxx Review – Strongly Love/Hate it - Shelly Palmer

October 4, 2013
Verizon Droid Maxx

Published: October 4, 2013 at 05:19 PM GMT
Last Updated: October 4, 2013 at 05:19 PM GMT

About two weeks ago, Verizon sent me a Droid Maxx to review. Being a Samsung Galaxy S4 user, I was immediately taken by some of the Droid Maxx's features. So taken, that when I sent the review phone back, I went to Verizon and bought one at full retail price. It's going back tomorrow morning and I'll be happy to pay the restocking fee – everything is not always what you think it is.

Dongle Fever

First and foremost, the headphone jack is not a two-way data port, so nothing that you are used to plugging into it (other than headphones) will work. No Jawbone UP, no PayPal or Square dongle, even some volume and mute controls on some headsets with microphones will not work with the phone. This is a hardware issue, not a software issue, so if your device is incompatible with the phone, there is no quick fix in sight.

Camera. What camera?

Then there's the camera. No one you know can take a picture of you with your phone. There is no on screen button to snap with so everyone presses the video camera button and takes videos of you posing for a still – which is funny the first time it happens, but it gets old very fast. What's worse is that the camera is awful. Even after you explain that you just press anywhere on the screen to take a picture, the pictures are remarkably bad. You can go read a tech article about why they are as bad as they are, but I just returned from Oktoberfest in Munich and I am very happy that my friends all had iPhones and Galaxy S4's -- otherwise I would have no pictures from the Hippodrom.

For me, when you combine the useless camera and hardware incompatibility, the phone becomes a liability not an asset. That said, there are some things to truly love about the device.

Battery Life

Although Moto says that you'll get 48 hours of battery life, in practice, I am getting a solid 24, which is awesome. Because the Droid Maxx has a Snapdragon processor in it, you can use Qualcomm's Battery Guru app to help manage and extend your battery life. If you hate switching batteries mid-day with your GS4, you'll love the Droid Maxx.

OK Google Now

Just say "OK Google Now" and you will get an up close personal view of how Google Glass is going to work. Google Now is awesome. If you think Siri is cool, you will strongly love just saying "OK Google Now" and getting your device to respond. The Maxx does not even need to be unlocked, it just needs to be powered on. Awesome!

Stock Android, Sort Of

The Droid Maxx comes with Android 4.2 and will be easily upgradable to 4.3. It has almost no bloatware or crapware installed which makes using it a pleasure. If you are a Google Apps for Business user, you will be in heaven. The Droid Maxx is to Google Apps for Business what iPhones are to Mac users – they're simply made for each other.

If You Don't Take Pictures, This May Be The Best Phone On The Market

If you don't take pictures or if you don't care about how the ones you do take come out, this may be the best Android available. The tech specs notwithstanding, the phone is fast, powerful and responsive in ways that other devices are not. If you're just an email and txt person who likes to web browse, game and use apps – you will not find a better Android phone.

If It's So Great, Why Send It Back?

Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, Video, Kids, Friends, and Social Media of all types require excellent visuals – these are simply not possible with the Droid Maxx. Unless you are in perfect natural light and can capture the image you want without a flash, you will hate the results. This is simply unacceptable in 2013. Moto should know better. When Moto upgrades the camera, I'll revisit the device. Right now. It's got to go back. I'm amazed at how much I hate taking bad pictures.

You Can't Have Everything

I can't tell you how much I wish the Moto Droid Maxx did it all. That would have made me very, very happy. What will I use instead? I'm already back to my trusty Samsung Galaxy S4, and anxiously awaiting the Note 3 which should be out on Verizon in all its LTE glory very soon.

Shelly Palmer is Fox 5 New York's On-air Tech Expert (WNYW-TV) and the host of Fox Television's monthly show Shelly Palmer Digital Living. He also hosts United Stations Radio Network's, Shelly Shelly PalmerPalmer Digital Living Daily, a daily syndicated radio report that features insightful commentary and a unique insiders take on the biggest stories in technology, media, and entertainment. He is Managing Director of Advanced Media Ventures Group, LLC an industry-leading advisory and business development firm and a member of the Executive Committee of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (the organization that bestows the coveted Emmy® Awards). Palmer is the author of Television Disrupted: The Transition from Network to Networked TV 2nd Edition (York House Press, 2008) the seminal book about the technological, economic, and sociological forces that are changing everything, Overcoming The Digital Divide: How to use Social Media and Digital Tools to Reinvent Yourself and Your Career; (York House Press, 2011) and Digital Wisdom: Thought Leadership for a Connected World (York House Press, 2013). For more information, visit shellypalmer.com.

Read all Shelly's MediaBizBloggers commentaries at Shelly Palmer Report.

Check us out on Facebook at MediaBizBloggers.com
Follow our Twitter updates @MediaBizBlogger

The opinions and points of view expressed in this commentary are exclusively the views of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of MediaBizBloggers.com management or associated bloggers. MediaBizBloggers is an open thought leadership platform and readers may share their comments and opinions in response to all commentaries.

add this social bookmark link

1 Comment
Post a Comment

Commentary Archives

September 2015
August 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
November 2014
October 2014

See all Archived Material


Adblockalypse and More: Top 10 Takeaways from Advertising Week 2015
Another year, another Advertising Week, that seminal time when the industry descends upon Times Square to mingle, make connections and learn a little. Being relatively new to it, we had a lot to learn. For example, bring an external charger since outlets are few and far between. Also, do not purchase an iced coffee before going into the Times Center’s beverage-free main stage (or at least be stealthy about it). Below we share our Top 10 observations from Advertising Week 2015.

A Smart Way to Out-Block Ad Blocking
Enough was enough for the Interactive Advertising Bureau last week over the matter of ad blocking among Internet sites. They actually disrupted their own contribution to Advertising Week, attended by more than 1,300 people, to bring this matter to, in IAB's instance, a long-overdue head.

Access Confidential’s New Business Know-How
Whether you’re pitching new business or retaining current business, Lisa Colantuono’s tips below offer an easy-to-follow guide applicable for both agencies and media companies alike.

An Inside Tip for Higher Organic Reach on Facebook
If a company posts on Facebook without paid media, does anyone ever see it? More and more, we are finding that less and less people do. While this fact remains true, our analysts have discovered an upside to increasing organic reach. Unfortunately, you still need to buy Facebook media but it appears that Facebook is following Larry Page’s mantra of “Always deliver more than expected.”

Connecting with Mom: How YouTube Helps in Moments of Need
“YouTube reaches not only more 18-34 and but also 25-44 year-old females than any cable network in the U.S. on both desktop and mobile” according to an analysis Google had commissioned from Nielsen in February 2015. This finding added to our ongoing hunch that YouTube has become a destination for females out beyond just Millennials. As such, we had thought, “YouTube is becoming a core part of many moms’ daily routines and is positively impacting their lives.” So we decided to dig a little deeper and set out on a year-long research program to understand the role YouTube plays in the ever-evolving life of the modern mom. In this post, I will try to give you the topline.

Not Your Father’s Tune-In -- Part 4
This continues our multi-part series about the new tune-in advertising, whose rating effects are now generally being measured to varying degrees by all players, using Nielsen itself in some cases, and especially using set top box data where the statistical significance of the findings leads to greater confidence in acting on the results.

2015 –The Last Big Year for Fossil Fuel Use!
2015 will turn out to be the peak year of fossil fuel use. By 2020 it will be clear that the decline in consumption of fossil fuels began this year. It therefore will be the first year of flat to down fossil fuel emissions. This is a very significant event: The beginning of the end of the fossil fuel energy era.

You Can Skip This Ad in 5, 4, 3 …
How pathetic that we create a product we know to be so loathsome that if people could avoid it, they would. But, if we can just hold them hostage for the minimum amount of time for which a client can be convinced to pay, we consider our jobs done, and sadly, done well. And, while we spend our days convincing clients to spend money on a product no one much wants, we spend our nights avoiding that very same product.

Katy Loria of Screenvision on Changing Careers, Working Moms and More
Katy Loria, Executive Vice President, Chief Revenue Officer at Screenvision, made a huge career transition from television and digital at Viacom in Chicago to cinema advertising at Screenvision in New York. She says that “after so many years at Viacom, which was a wonderful place to work, I wanted a change of pace. I went from big company to small company, from public company to private company and from consumer facing brand to non-consumer facing. For me it was a new and different challenge.”

The Beverly Billionaires, Or How to Make Podcasts Profitable
Take a good look at the photo above. Through the 1970's those four faces drove about a billion dollars to CBS and producer Mark Goodson. They were the original stars of “The Match Game.” From 1973-1982 they dominated daytime TV ratings and profits. Same scenery year to year. Incredibly small prizes. Absolutely no challenging Q&As.

Will the “Cable” Bundle Die? Or Has It Just Splintered?
Well, sure. It’ll die. And be reborn. Just not quite like you might imagine. So we’ve got Dr. John Malone’s promised 500 channels and we only watch 17 or so regularly. We watch another dozen or so when something -- often social-network activity -- drives us to do so. “Everyone” (whoever that is) complains about paying for all those channels everyone doesn’t watch.

Is TV's Big Food Gravy Train Being Derailed?
Big Food has a bellyache, and it's giving Madison Avenue a migraine. The problem for the nation's packaged-food giants is that consumer tastes are changing faster than they seem to be capable of keeping up with.

Has the 2015-16 Television Season Begun? You Could Fool Me.
The opening weeks of the 2015-16 television season are turning out to be a strange time for everyone. Not a single new show has generated any palpable excitement, including those that are early “successes,” including NBC’s “Blindspot” (pictured above), Fox’s “Rosewood,” CBS’ “Limitless” (pictured below) and ABC’s “Quantico.” Meanwhile, the traditional impact of opening night/next day ratings reports finally has been neutralized, allowing under-performing programs (of which there are many) to linger longer than ever before and slowly get their numbers up via DVR and VOD.

Navigating the eSports Sponsorship Market
The eSports phenomenon has taken flight -- and its sponsorship marketplace is beginning to take shape.

Public Broadcasting Podcasts: Stories Worth Selling
The voracious consumer appetite for podcasts is paying off for the usually outstretched hand of public broadcasting. Even the “seen everything” agency types at last week’s Advertising Week conferred star status on the three panelists set to reveal the secret sauce that makes their public broadcasting podcasts so popular and so compelling for exposure-hungry brands.

Click Here for Membership Information