jackmyers.com
Free ContentFor Members Only
HOME MEDIAVILLAGE.com WOMEN ADVANCING HOOKED UP MEMBERSHIP INFO MEMBER COMPANIES MEDIA BUSINESS REPORT ECONOMIC FORECASTS RESEARCH
Home > JackMyersThinkTank > The Verizon Motorola Droid Maxx Review – Strongly Love/Hate it - Shelly Palmer

The Verizon Motorola Droid Maxx Review – Strongly Love/Hate it - Shelly Palmer

October 4, 2013
Verizon Droid Maxx

Published: October 4, 2013 at 01:35 AM GMT
Last Updated: October 4, 2013 at 01:35 AM GMT

About two weeks ago, Verizon sent me a Droid Maxx to review. Being a Samsung Galaxy S4 user, I was immediately taken by some of the Droid Maxx's features. So taken, that when I sent the review phone back, I went to Verizon and bought one at full retail price. It's going back tomorrow morning and I'll be happy to pay the restocking fee – everything is not always what you think it is.

Dongle Fever

First and foremost, the headphone jack is not a two-way data port, so nothing that you are used to plugging into it (other than headphones) will work. No Jawbone UP, no PayPal or Square dongle, even some volume and mute controls on some headsets with microphones will not work with the phone. This is a hardware issue, not a software issue, so if your device is incompatible with the phone, there is no quick fix in sight.

Camera. What camera?

Then there's the camera. No one you know can take a picture of you with your phone. There is no on screen button to snap with so everyone presses the video camera button and takes videos of you posing for a still – which is funny the first time it happens, but it gets old very fast. What's worse is that the camera is awful. Even after you explain that you just press anywhere on the screen to take a picture, the pictures are remarkably bad. You can go read a tech article about why they are as bad as they are, but I just returned from Oktoberfest in Munich and I am very happy that my friends all had iPhones and Galaxy S4's -- otherwise I would have no pictures from the Hippodrom.

For me, when you combine the useless camera and hardware incompatibility, the phone becomes a liability not an asset. That said, there are some things to truly love about the device.

Battery Life

Although Moto says that you'll get 48 hours of battery life, in practice, I am getting a solid 24, which is awesome. Because the Droid Maxx has a Snapdragon processor in it, you can use Qualcomm's Battery Guru app to help manage and extend your battery life. If you hate switching batteries mid-day with your GS4, you'll love the Droid Maxx.

OK Google Now

Just say "OK Google Now" and you will get an up close personal view of how Google Glass is going to work. Google Now is awesome. If you think Siri is cool, you will strongly love just saying "OK Google Now" and getting your device to respond. The Maxx does not even need to be unlocked, it just needs to be powered on. Awesome!

Stock Android, Sort Of

The Droid Maxx comes with Android 4.2 and will be easily upgradable to 4.3. It has almost no bloatware or crapware installed which makes using it a pleasure. If you are a Google Apps for Business user, you will be in heaven. The Droid Maxx is to Google Apps for Business what iPhones are to Mac users – they're simply made for each other.

If You Don't Take Pictures, This May Be The Best Phone On The Market

If you don't take pictures or if you don't care about how the ones you do take come out, this may be the best Android available. The tech specs notwithstanding, the phone is fast, powerful and responsive in ways that other devices are not. If you're just an email and txt person who likes to web browse, game and use apps – you will not find a better Android phone.

If It's So Great, Why Send It Back?

Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, Video, Kids, Friends, and Social Media of all types require excellent visuals – these are simply not possible with the Droid Maxx. Unless you are in perfect natural light and can capture the image you want without a flash, you will hate the results. This is simply unacceptable in 2013. Moto should know better. When Moto upgrades the camera, I'll revisit the device. Right now. It's got to go back. I'm amazed at how much I hate taking bad pictures.

You Can't Have Everything

I can't tell you how much I wish the Moto Droid Maxx did it all. That would have made me very, very happy. What will I use instead? I'm already back to my trusty Samsung Galaxy S4, and anxiously awaiting the Note 3 which should be out on Verizon in all its LTE glory very soon.

Shelly Palmer is Fox 5 New York's On-air Tech Expert (WNYW-TV) and the host of Fox Television's monthly show Shelly Palmer Digital Living. He also hosts United Stations Radio Network's, Shelly Shelly PalmerPalmer Digital Living Daily, a daily syndicated radio report that features insightful commentary and a unique insiders take on the biggest stories in technology, media, and entertainment. He is Managing Director of Advanced Media Ventures Group, LLC an industry-leading advisory and business development firm and a member of the Executive Committee of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (the organization that bestows the coveted Emmy® Awards). Palmer is the author of Television Disrupted: The Transition from Network to Networked TV 2nd Edition (York House Press, 2008) the seminal book about the technological, economic, and sociological forces that are changing everything, Overcoming The Digital Divide: How to use Social Media and Digital Tools to Reinvent Yourself and Your Career; (York House Press, 2011) and Digital Wisdom: Thought Leadership for a Connected World (York House Press, 2013). For more information, visit shellypalmer.com.

Read all Shelly's MediaBizBloggers commentaries at Shelly Palmer Report.

Check us out on Facebook at MediaBizBloggers.com
Follow our Twitter updates @MediaBizBlogger

The opinions and points of view expressed in this commentary are exclusively the views of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of MediaBizBloggers.com management or associated bloggers. MediaBizBloggers is an open thought leadership platform and readers may share their comments and opinions in response to all commentaries.

add this social bookmark link

1 Comment
Post a Comment










Commentary Archives

July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
November 2014
October 2014
September 2014
August 2014

See all Archived Material

MediaVillage.com

The Growing eSports Marketplace for Brands
This week on Mindshare’s Culture Vulture Live, Alexis Fragile explores the rise of eSports in North America.

Q&A: Dentsu Aegis SE Asia on Automation, Programmatic and TV
The Summer of Sears continues! Jay Sears, Senior Vice President Marketplace Development of Rubicon Project discusses "Automation, Programmatic and TV" with Anna Chan of Dentsu Aegis' Amnet Asia. The two executives appeared at Rubicon Project's 2nd Annual Real Time Trading Update from SE Asia's Buy Side in Bintan, Indonesia in July 2015.

“AGT” Presents One of the Most Amazing Things You Will Ever See on Any Screen
NBC’s summer hit “America’s Got Talent” has offered up countless impressive acts during its decade-long run … but there was one on the show Tuesday night that in my opinion topped them all. In fact, it was so amazing that it doesn’t seem adequate to qualify it against other “AGT” acts only, so let me say this: It was one of the most incredible things I have ever seen on television – and, in part, on Instagram – period. My neighbors and I were as slack-jawed as judges Howard Stern, Heidi Klum, Mel B and Howie Mandel, and host Nick Cannon, at the end of the segment.

SMI: Vibrant July Gets Ad Spend Market Back on Track
Following a challenging start to the year for most media owners, July delivered the biggest growth numbers of 2015 so far, fueled by digital and a resurgent out-of-home market.

“Fear the Walking Dead,” “I Am Cait,” “Mr. Robot”
Shortly after the publication of my column last Friday, which was filled with hindsight reflections on the recently concluded Summer 2015 Television Critics Association tour, I heard from a former TCA member with an interesting observation of his own.

Will There Be a New Media Distribution Consensus?
It’s been awhile since DISH CEO Charles Ergen began accumulating spectrum to augment his ability to provide robust programming to subscribers via mobile broadband. Last week, I noted that AT&T CEO Randall Stephenson was, more or less kind of, leapfrogging Charlie and putting the strategic idea together by absorbing DirecTV. And, on the cheaper side of the immediate future, major cable MSO/ISPs Comcast, Charter (presumably with the Time Warner Cable and Bright House acquisitions), Cablevision, Cox and others already provide Internet access via Wi-Fi hotspots everywhere (and all together) and are moving to use almost any set-top box (or dongle or device) via the cloud. (Charter’s Thomas Rutledge was a mover behind the remote DVR at Cablevision.) Also at the end of last week, Investor’s Business Daily reported that Oppenheimer analyst Tim Horan was predicting that Verizon, Sprint and T-Mobile would, one way or another, find a way to partner a la AT&T/DirecTV, too.

“TREotM”: The 2nd Decade of the 21st Century
Chapter 12, Part 1

What We Know About Frequency in TV and Digital Advertising: Pt. 2
By Gian Fulgoni, Bill Harvey and Andrew Lipsman

Ashley Madison and the Future of Men
The recent Ashley Madison hack revealed that 86% of the site's users were men, casting men and the online dating culture into the spotlight--and not in a good way.

"Fear the Walking Dead" is Here at Last!
Without a doubt the most feverishly anticipated new series of 2015 is "Fear the Walking Dead," AMC's fearsome prequel to "The Walking Dead." And tonight, at long last, it's showtime!

Is The Agency Model Broken?
Bill Koenigsberg, CEO of Horizon Media, was probably right when he recently pointed out that the old agency model is broken. But it has happened for many reasons that are not only associated with approximately $30 billion in client billings now in review.

The Millennial Dilemma
We’ve been called lazy, arrogant, narcissistic -- and most definitely tech-absorbed. When older generations hear the word “Millennials,” they often groan or shake their heads. We are the spoiled generation, connected constantly to our phones and missing out on real relationships, real connections. Or so they say.

At TCA Tours, Broadcast is Still the Game to Beat
It’s been a week since the 2015 Summer Television Critics Association tour came to an end – with a full day of panels by NBC, an experience that left many of the critics and reporters there believing that a broadcast network should never occupy the last day of any tour, especially in the summer. That’s because broadcast network days are still regarded by many of their editors and publishers, if not by the journalists and bloggers themselves, as the most important, simply because they tend to be jammed with panels for new fall or midseason series.

Mr. Mom. A Nice Theory. Ask the Kids About It.
Meet Samantha Gloria Sabo (pictured above). She is three and a half years old. Here are her priorities:

What Marketers Should Know About Back-to-School Season
This week, on Mindshare’s Culture Vulture Live, Kristine Munsen discusses back-to-school season and omnichannel retail.

Click Here for Membership Information